New NSW coalition cabinet to be sworn in-NewsCO

January 29, 2017

Out with the old and in with the new – NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian will press reset as her new ministry is sworn in at Government House on Monday.

The refreshed cabinet includes seven new faces and new portfolios for counter-terrorism and the controversial WestConnex motorway project.

But the door has been closed on some experienced ministers including Adrian Piccoli from education, long-serving roads minister Duncan Gay and John Ajaka and Leslie Williams from multiculturalism and early education respectively.

Stuart Ayres will be in charge of the new portfolio overseeing the $16.8 billion controversial motorway project WestConnex.

David Elliot will add the new counter-terrorism portfolio to his corrections and veterans affairs role.

There are three new women in the line-up including Nationals MPs Melinda Pavey and Sarah Mitchell and the Liberals’ member for Mulgoa, Tanya Davies.

Veteran MP Brad Hazzard will take over as health minister, replacing Jillian Skinner who quit last week after being given a heads-up about the change.

Ms Berejiklian said the new team would work hard to improve the lives of NSW residents.

But the opposition has accused her of caving in to factional heavyweights with the appointments.

NewsCO World & Australian News, Sport, MMA & More

Article Categories:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *